The Daily Create: To Be a Kid Again

When I was a kid there was something I loved more than anything else.

Wrestling.

I wanted to be in tag team with my best friend to be like the Legion of Doom.

LOD

I wanted to look like the Ultimate Warrior

Ultimate warrior

And to wrestle like Bret Hart and Mr. Perfect.

summerslam-19911

I was eating and breathing wrestling. Every Saturday I would watch 3 hours of wrestling. The same wrestling show 3 times. WWF Superstars.   Twice in English and once in French. I spent my afternoons with Sean Mooney, Gorilla Monsoon, Lord Alfred Hayes and Howard Finkel. I’ll never forget watching Shawn Michaels kick Marty Janetty through the barber shop window or the Model Rick Martel spraying his perfume “Arrogance” into Jake the Snakes’ eyes. Or seeing the Ultimate Warrior puking after Papa Shango put a curse on him. And the rage I felt when Macho Man hit the Ultimate Warrior during his match with Sgt. Slaughter and made him lose. I actually wrote a letter to WWF President Jack Tunney.

Then when I discovered the other wrestling company I added another hour or two in the evening. I’ll never forget WCW Saturday Night  and Sunday Night Main Event both at 6:05 on TBS. I got to watch Sting and Lex Luger and the Steiner Brothers fight the Dangerous Alliance. I’ll never forget the first time I saw Big Van Vader coming out in his steam blowing monster helmet. It was awesome.

If I could go back, the only thing I’d change is that I’d probably watch more wrestling and work from an early age to become a wrestler.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy with my life. But, I know in some parallel universe I’m a world champion.

Leave a Reply

