DS106 Weekly Summary

So, I started this course on Monday and I have been really enjoying it. It’s hard because I’m not the most technologically inclined person. I mean, I can get by, but I’m learning so much about the nuts and bolts of how to do stuff. I really love that.

I’m also amazed at how making art on a regular basis has really opened up my world. I’ve taken pictures, I’ve written a lot more than I have in the past few years. It makes me feel alive. And this is just the beginning! I’m fascinated to see what kind of art will be coming out of me by the end of the course.

I’ve also really fallen in love with my blog. I’ve customized this space to reflect my inner world in a way that pleases and fulfills me. I’m sure I’ll keep tweaking it but the feel of it is bang on. As for what I’m dreading, I think as we get into the more nitty gritty technical stuff I’m going to feel much more challenged. As well as continuing to create art. Sometimes you just don’t feel like putting yourself out there.

And now for the obligatory part of my Weekly Summary:

I addressed my feelings about art in a previous post and actually went outside the provided videos for ideas about art that resonated more clearly with me.

I believe that art is magic. Art is anything that brings something out of the realm of the perfect and idea ( think Plato) into the real world. The ability to manifest ideas into the physical world is incredible. To make people feel things with what you’ve manifested is truly magic. And, I think in our age of disenchantment where we know that fairies and goblins aren’t real (They aren’t real, right?) we can still feel awe and wonder through art.

As for the best advice from previous students, doing the work everyday is by far the best. It could very easily get very overwhelming if you left it all to the last day of the week.

Here I’m supposed to embed a Daily Create video but I haven’t had to make any videos for Daily Create yet. But once I do, I will certainly embed it.

Here are the links to my various accounts for DS106:

https://twitter.com/LarabieDan

https://www.flickr.com/photos/dan_larabie/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCEXZvF6OxQ6kjHtNU6YdjRw

and last but not least,

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/dan-larabie

Alright, I think that about does it for my weekly summary. Onto bigger and scarier adventures!

Leave a Reply

